Balmain

When I finished the jacket in my last post I showed it to a friend who said it reminded him of Balmain.  I wasn’t offended.

I can understand where he might see some Balmain. There is definitely romance and drama in his designs. There are strong masculine shapes but I think he introduces newer/bolder concepts to menswear.   I love the risks he takes, and while I think his clothes can look a bit heavy, I love that there is excitement.  I probably have a personal bias as my aesthetic tries to lean towards “dandy with an attitude” and I see that in his collections-definitely some great pieces to bring out the rockstar/biker in us all.

I thought it would be fun to share some of my favorite looks from this season and last.  Although, I will say that I heavily disagree with some of the styling–particularly of this season (those boots?!), but I think most of the pieces are great. I particularly like the alligator skins and really clean blazers. The denim leans a little too…European…but, I get it.

All the images are from Style.com, a great place to check out if you want to waste your entire day looking at the runway collections.

